

President: Nancy Rivers, WTCC President-Elect: Ann DeBoever, CVCC

Past-President: Suzanne Williams, CPCC Secretary: Valerie Melvin, CFCC Eastern VP: Glynis Mullins, Pitt CC Western VP: Jeanne McGinnis, CVCC

Central VP: Chris Mansfield, DTCC Treasurer: John Bakken, WTCC

The annual breakfast Business Meeting was held March 11, 2011 at Davidson County CC.

Nancy Rivers welcomed the attendees and called the meeting to order at 8:45 am.

Robert Farinelli provided greetings from AMATYC and announced that the next AMATYC conference will be held in Austin Texas November 10 - 13, 2011. He also informed the attendees of the new webinar series launched by AMATYC last month. Their goal is to have one every month at least through the academic year to extend the conference experience all year round.

Minutes from Previous Meeting -- No minutes were located, the former Secretary went into labor on the way home from the conference.

Reports -

Treasurer – The checking account has a balance of \$7618.70, the money market account has a balance of \$6835.48. The following represent expenditures from 6/24/2010 through 3/7/2011: Board meetings \$1557.28, Newsletter \$598.60, Executive Travel \$992.92, Awards \$1525.74, Website \$1000, Postage \$17.60 and Conference expenses \$375.98. The following represents revenue from 6/24/2010 through 3/7/2011: Conference fees \$700.00, Conference registration \$4680.00 and membership dues \$2540.00.

Membership - We currently have 242 active members including 40 new members.

Student Math League - Last year Central Piedmont won the state award, finished first place in the Southeast region and third place in the country. Wake Tech finished second in the state.

Conference Statistics – There were 131 attendees, 10 vendors, 10 commercial sessions and 39 sessions presented at the conference.

2012 NCMATYC Conference will be held at Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington March 15th and 16th.

Awards

Faculty Math League – Ten attendees took the Faculty Math League exam. The third place winner, from Wake Tech, was Mary Pearce. The second place winner, from Wake Tech, was Julia Head. The first place winner, also from Wake Tech, was Seth McElvaney.

Mathematics Excellence – Lee Ann Spahr was the recipient of the second NCMATYC Mathematics Excellence award. She has attended every NCMATYC conference and 16 of last 20 AMATYC conferences, congratulations Lee Ann.

Travel Awards - One AMATYC and three NCMATYC awards were granted to attend conferences.

Nominations for new board members – New board members will be elected by our next conference.

The 2013 conference will be held in the Western region, we are looking for a commitment for hosting the conference.

Newsletter articles are due in to Daniella Zemanek by April 15th.

New Business

Amendments to the Constitution and By-Laws --- Jean McGinnis made a motion to wave the reading of the proposed by-law changes; the motion was seconded by Glynis Mullins and passed unanimously.

Jeanne McGinnis made a motion to vote on amendments as a block, the motion was seconded by Glynis Mullins. No discussions ensued, the proposed changes passed unanimously.

Acknowledgements – A special thanks was given to Jennifer Comer and her team for all their hard work in pulling off an exceptional conference. Also, special thanks were given to Ann DeBoever for her work on the conference schedule.

The USCOTS conference will be held May $19^{th} - 21^{st}$ at the Research Triangle Park. This conference is NSF funded and provides free preconference workshops.

In conclusion, NCMATYC is your organization. The board needs your ideas. What can NCMATYC do to make you a better instructor and assist your students? We really need your input, what do we need to be doing?

An attendee requested that the board consider holding the conference on Friday and Saturday morning instead of the traditional Thursday, Friday. Valerie will solicit input from the conference attendees regarding this request and report at the board retreat.

Adjournment of Business meeting - 9:30 am

Minutes will be submitted for approval at the next annual business meeting, March 16, 2012.