Executive Board

2020-22 Executive Board Members

John Bennett – President  – Robeson CC

I graduated from St. Andrews Presbyterian College with a BA in Mathematics, earning my NC Professional Educators License. After working to save a bit more money, I went to East Carolina to earn my MA in Mathematics and worked as a Graduate Assistant teaching Intermediate Algebra. After living in Canada for three years and teaching at Old Sun CC on the Siksika Reserve in Alberta, I moved back to North Carolina and taught at a private school, a charter school and two pubic high schools. After 11 years of K12 instruction, I moved back to teaching college, teaching at Halifax CC for 10 years before moving to Robeson CC where I now teach. I have taught everything from 6th grade to Calculus and have loved (almost) every minute of it.

Jessica Bennett-Broady – President-Elect Guilford Technical CC

My name is Jessica Bennett-Broady and I am currently an instructor at Guilford Technical Community College. I was born in Michigan but reared in the small town of Zebulon, NC. My high school, East Wake High School, was small and we had limited resources. However, my thirst for learning led me to pursue multiple degrees including an Associate in Arts from Pitt Community College and both a Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts in Mathematics from East Carolina University. I believe that I possess the ideal qualities needed to represent NCMATYC as President-Elect. A few of my organizational skills include my ability to plan strategically. Representing NC’s 58 community colleges is a huge undertaking but my keen eye for precision and details will ensure a smooth transition from one administration to the next. I am confident that I can also bring fresh insight to NCMATYC.

Susan Hope Howard – Past President  – Pitt CC

Susan Howard, NCMATYC President ElecetI grew up in Western NC before attending East Carolina University for my undergraduate degrees in mathematics and mathematics education. After earning my BS/BA in mathematics and secondary mathematics education I entered Clemson University to study operations research, but I deeply missed teaching and my kids. It’s many years later and I have had a wonderful time teaching everything from seventh grade to MAT 273. Most of the time you can find me at ECU teaching for Pitt Community College in our partnership for Intermediate Algebra. When I’m not working with students or developing curriculum I enjoy cooking, spending time with family and friends, classic films, Instagram, and trying to save the world one to-do list at a time.

Nolan Outlaw – Eastern Region VP – Wake Tech CC

I have been a full-time math instructor at Wake Tech Community College since August 2016. I have had the privilege of attending every NCMATYC Conference since starting my career teaching community college math. Through attending and presenting at these conferences, I have developed many valuable skills that I regularly use while teaching. In addition to that, I have learned many tips and tricks from colleagues around the state about what works and what does not work in their classrooms. NCMATYC has been such a valuable organization for my teaching career, and if given the opportunity to serve as Eastern Vice President, it is my hope to ensure that NCMATYC continues to be that valuable resource for all community college math teachers across North Carolina.
Through attending NCMATYC Conferences I learned about AMATYC. I have presented several times at AMATYC, and from 2018-2019, I participated as a member of Cohort 15 of Project ACCCESS. In addition to this, I served as the committee chair for AMATYC’s Math and its Applications for Careers Committee from 2020-2021. My experiences at AMATYC have only made me more eager and more equipped to continue my involvement with NCMATYC and to seek a leadership role in this organization.
I feel blessed to be able to teach math for my career, and NCMATYC has been an important part of my journey in that career. I attended my first NCMATYC Conference just seven months after I started teaching full time at Wake Tech. In fact, this was the first professional conference I ever attended in my life. I was immediately fascinated with the idea of math teachers from all over North Carolina getting together to talk about math. How we teach it, topics we are especially interested in, ways to teach online, assignments that have worked well, and the list goes on.

Amanda Davis – Central Region VP – Forsyth Tech CC

I am originally from Pittsburgh, PA and then lived in Maryland for many years.  I landed in North Carolina to study at Elon earning BS and BA degrees in math and piano.  I followed that with an MA in mathematics from Wake Forest University.  I spent 18 years working as a paralegal and teaching math and piano part-time before coming back to teach full-time mathematics at Forsyth Technical Community College.  In the few years I have been in this position, I have worked to globalize a statistics course, develop open educational resources to provide access for all students, and mentor research students in our STEM Alliance program.  Outside of work, I enjoy reading, cooking and eating great meals, gardening, and catching live music when I can!

Laurie Keatts – Western Region VP – Catawba Valley CC

I grew up in western Massachusetts before attending Virginia Tech for my undergraduate curriculum.  I earned a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering with a Minor in Mathematics and went on to work as an engineer in manufacturing for over a decade.  In 2007, I began my Master in Social Work from Appalachian State University with the intention of becoming a private practice therapist.  However, during my graduate program, I found myself teaching mathematics part-time for Catawba Valley Community College, and knew then that I wanted to make this my career.  I completed my Master in Social Work in 2010, plus enough graduate hours in mathematics to teach both Math and Sociology at CVCC.  I am passionate about Equity and am the Southeastern Representative of the AMATYC Equity Committee.  I have two beautiful daughters, and in my spare time, I love music and baking.

Stephanie Woodley – Secretary – Pitt CC

I am the Math & Physics Department Chair at Pitt Community College since 2008. I began at PCC as a full-time mathematics instructor in the Fall of 2001 and taught for 4 years at other schools before moving to PCC. I am running for NCMATYC Secretary. I feel that my love of numbers and attention to detail will allow me to serve the board and the membership in this position.

Vicki Todd – Treasurer – Southwestern CC

I fell in love with math as a teenager and now have the honor of teaching others. When I started at Southwestern Community College, I was given the opportunity to attend my first NCMATYC conference as an adjunct and have been in love with the organization ever sense. I would be honored to be your treasurer.

Questions, comments, concerns can be sent to the board at ncmatycboard@gmail.com